Shootout goal or no goal? Did this shot cross the line just before the 8 seconds mark?

Our friend Mina Swart from South Africa shared this video with us. What happened is that there was a shoot out series between the team of KZN Mynahs and Mpumalanga. The attacker shot to goal out of a rebound on the goalie and the ball went in, apparently before the 8 seconds mark (you all know by now that you have 8 seconds to play a shootout I guess…). One of the umpires gave the goal but after talking to each other, they  decided that is was no goal, what do you think? Make sure to put your volume high in order to listen to the second whistle!


By Pablo Mendoza

Pablo Mendoza is an FIH Hockey Academy Educator and the owner of A Hockey World. Contact: