India gets a new captain for RIO 2016: PR Sreejesh in for Sardar Singh

PR Sreejsh, the new Indian captain.
PR Sreejsh, the new Indian captain.

During the 2016 Champions Trophy in London, PR Sreejesh lead the team to the silver medal due to the absence of Sardar Singh. In the recent months, Sardar Singh has been involved in a controversy off the pitch for a while now after allegations of sexual harassment were brought up against him by a former England women’s U-19 hockey player, and this decision might have been affected due to this situation.

Sardar Singh will not be the captain in Rio 2016


The full Indian Olympic squad goes as follows:
Goalkeeper: PR Sreejesh.
Defenders: Harmanpreet Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh, Kothajit Singh, Surendar Kumar,VR Raghunath.
Midfielders: Manpreet Singh, Sardar Singh, SK Uthappa, Danish Mujtaba, Devender Walmiki,Chinglensana Singh.
Forwards: SV Sunil, Akashdeep Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Nikkin Thimmaiah.

By Pablo Mendoza

Pablo Mendoza is an FIH Hockey Academy Educator and the owner of A Hockey World. Contact:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *