Field Hockey Rules: Should the goal be in front, behind or on top of the goal line?





Field Hockey Rules, how well you know them? Is the goal in front, behind or on top of the goal line?

Take a look at this shootout during the Youth Olympic Games. This action happened during the game between China and the Netherlands and it shows us a particular action and puts the field hockey rules into question…




After leaving the goalkeeper behind, the Chinese player was running out of time and had a very narrow angle to send the ball in.
She pushed the ball in and this one hit the inside face of the post sending it back into the field…

Should it have been a goal or not? If you know the field hockey rules, you probably know the right answer!

By Pablo Mendoza

Pablo Mendoza is an FIH Hockey Academy Educator and the CEO of A Hockey World. Contact: pablo@ahockeyworld.net

Instant contact via Whastapp